I Cannot Tell You How Much I Have Loved You

Music: Fugue in C Minor.
By Dimitri Shostakovich. Sequenced by J. Marques.

I cannot tell you how much I have loved you,
Nor give you an accounting of my joy,
Nor share with you the hopes with which I've held you,
Nor shadow forth the dreams I would employ.
You cannot know the pleasure that you gave me,
Nor grasp the grace in which I've spent my days,
Nor understand the standing that would save me
Whenever darkness met my morning gaze.
You've been to me a moment everlasting,
Though lasting but the moment of us all,
And given me a glimpse of what, in passing,
Must pass for what awaits beyond the wall.
Such love I wish for you as I have known,
But that must come from children of your own.

Copyright by Nicholas Gordon

[about this site] [poems for free] [poem of the day]
[site policy] [about me] [links]