He Cares Only that I'm Happy

Music: Fugue in C# Minor.
By Dimitri Shostakovich. Sequenced by
J. Marques.

He cares only that I'm happy,
Even were I not with him.
If some seek on the wind love's traces,
Some seek out the love within.
All my pleasures are his treasures,
Nor does he crave joy alone.
All have claim on his compassion;
No dark soul is on its own.
Giving thus, so naturally,
Each day he lights the love in me,
Like candles on a sunlit stone.

Copyright by Nicholas Gordon. Free for personal or non-commercial use.

[about this site] [poems for free] [poem of the week]
[site policy] [about me] [ links]